The Never Ending Playlist – #45

Bend Over – Wagon Christ (2001, Ninja Tune Records)

IPod Nano update, because I know that you haven’t been able to sleep since the news broke on Sunday morning. 

It’s fixed. 

Not sure how or why or indeed what I did, but yesterday before I pressed the big blue button which said ‘PURCHASE’.  I gave the Nano one last chance to wake up.  I held the off button down for about thirty seconds and suddenly from literally nowhere the apple logo appeared. 

It was fuzzy and bit blurry, almost as if my Nano had a bit of a hangover, but it looked like it was working, the screen whirled and then a picture formed on the screen.  It was the cover art for ‘Bend Over’ by Wagon Christ.  A song I didn’t even know I had on my iPod Nano. 

My mind raced, had my iPod on awakening from its owner indued coma, suddenly inherited a load of songs from somewhere else.  Would it suddenly start speaking Russian?  Of course not. It was just a song that I had loaded but had never been played.  Which is a shame because its marvellous slice of wonky dance pop that hints at a darker side with its sample of a lad in (one assumes) youth custody who is being invited to a ‘big house with a pool’ – the lad being all too aware of what he might need to do if he goes there.

Regardless the Nano appears to have forgiven me for my carelessness and I resolved there and then to make it a nice comfortable iPod bed to travel around in to keep it safe. 

Its good to have you back buddy.  You fancy a trip to Bedfordshire in a couple of weeks?

The Distance – Cake (1996, Capricorn Records)

Leave a Comment