Fifty Twelve Inches – #50

My Rising Star – Northside (1990, Factory Records)

And so we reach the end of this series. 

But don’t sit around looking sad and worry about what to do with your Sunday mornings from now on.  Because this series will be replaced next week with something almost exactly the same, only involving much smaller round things that play music when stuck into a machine. 

This series ends with a disappointing flump rather than a big bold bang of genius. I’ll blame the daughter and her rubbish ‘STOP’ commanding.  If it makes you all feel better I’ll stop her pocket money for a week.  There are two Northside Records in the cupboard, there should be three but I have a feeling that I used my copy of ‘Take Five’ as a frisbee once – possibly in homage to ‘Shaun of the Dead’.   Anyway, this is the other one

Shall We Take A Trip – Northside (1990, Factory Records)

I’ll now channel the spirit of the late great (ish) Jim Bowen and take a look at what we could have won.

I have EIGHT Carter USM twelve inches in my cupboard and we didn’t get anywhere near any of them. 

We could have had this for instance,

The Only Living Boy in New Cross – Carter USM (1992, Chrysalis Records)

There are also about eight Family Cat twelve inches in the cupboard, if I include ‘Tell ‘Em We’re Surfin’ as an EP, which I’m going to.  We didn’t get close to any of them either.  Sort of lucky because absolutely none of their music is available on Songwhip for some probably legal reason, but anyway, we could have had this as well,

Place With A Name – The Family Cat (1990, Dedicated Records)

Talking of records in the cupboard that aren’t on Songwhip, the finger of fate very nearly stopped on this a few weeks back.  I suspect the reason for Mr Ray’s Wigworld not being on Songwhip is entirely different from the Family Cat’s.

Faster Kitty Kat – Mr Rays Wigworld (1991)

What a thrill that would have been.  Mr Ray’s Wigworld should have been the biggest band in the world but everyone insisted on buying Therapy? Records instead.

Talking of whom, the finger of fate didn’t rather fortunately I suppose, stop on this either,

Teethgrinder – Therapy? (1992, A&M Records)

I had two early Therapy? albums as well that I never ever played.  Both purchased at the same time, from the same shop and then both left on the back seat of my mates Jon’s brothers Vauxhall Astra, who later denied any knowledge of them being there.

Finally for this series, we could have had Cud.  There are four, no hang on, five Cud twelve inches in the cupboard, a bunch from ‘Asquarius’, the re-issued brilliance that is ‘Purple Love Balloon’ and a twelve inch of ‘Robinson Cruesoe’, which up until about ten minutes ago, I thought I’d lost, turns out it was hiding inside the flappy white sleeve thing that came with early copies of ‘Some Friendly’. That does raise the issue of where my copy of ‘Some Friendly is.

Purple Love Balloon – Cud (1993, A&M Records)

All that is left is for us to have one more final no more than five word review, which is,

Thank Goodness, that’s over

It’s unclear if she is talking about the series or Northside.  Northside I suspect.

2 Comments

  1. JC says:

    As long as your daughter is involved in some shape or form in the new series…..

    Like

  2. baggingarea says:

    My Rising Star may feel a little anti- climatic but its entirely fitting with the nature of this excellent and hugely enjoyable series. Looking forward to whatever comes next.

    Like

Leave a Comment