The Never Ending Playlist Week #1

  1. Buddy Holly – Weezer (1994, DGC Records, Taken ‘Blue Album’)

By Never Ending I of course, mean until I got bored of it…

The first week as ‘Music Editor’ of the Surrey University student newspaper was eventful. I arrived in the office once Wednesday morning after lectures to find a small bundle of records waiting for me. There were four records, one tape (ask your dad), and a CD in total. I rubbed my grubby hands with glee, and then I opened the package.

There was a Gill Scott Heron 12″, a Skip MacDonald tape, something by a Goth band, that was so awful I don’t think I got past track two of it, and a couple of dance white labels that I can’t remember much about. The CD was by the way a two track promo CD by Weezer. Track Two was ‘Buddy Holly’ and after an all that came before it, ‘Buddy Holly’ sounded like the greatest song ever written. I mean it isn’t but for about seventeen minutes in the winter of 1994 if felt like it.

Here are a couple of the other tracks on the single release of ‘Buddy Holly’

My Name in Jonas – Weezer

Surf Wax America – Weezer

2 Comments

  1. JTFL says:

    Buddy Holly is the greatest song ever written that mentions Buddy Holly.

    Like

  2. JC says:

    My Name Is Jonas is wonderful. Possibly my favourite Weezer song.

    Like

Leave a Comment